1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 23, 2012 12:26 PM by philmodjunk

New User - Serial # and related table issues - Inventory System

JasonDiehl

Title

New User - Serial # and related table issues - Inventory System

hello

I am new to databases and FileMaker, but things are progressing.  I am stumbling on one issue.  I am attempting to create a inventory system.  I want to be able to load all inventory types in my main table, but want to determine the serial number per category.  For example I have "buckles" and "jewelry" as two different categories and want to have each have its own increasing numbers.  I want J-1 and B-1.  I unerstand this needs to be two fields.  I thought about setting up seperate tables for each category and that is where the product serial numbers would be created.  Then it would filter back to the main table, but that is not working.  I cant get things to filter that way.

I am used to Excel and that is where this data is being transferred from.  I have over 2,000 things inventoried this way so I need this to work.

Any thoughts or links to tutorials is much appreciated.

• 1. Re: New User - Serial # and related table issues - Inventory System
          philmodjunk

First, I strongly recommend that you do not use this serial number in relationships to other tables. If you need it to support an existing system, use a field for storing this data, but use another standard serial number to uniquely identify all items regardless of type to use in relational links to other tables. You can then use the value in reports, for searches and sorts without risking problems with your data integrity.

The separate tables approach is possible to set up, but not very practical unless you have only a few inventory types and the types aren't subject to frequent changes. You don't want to have to add several hundred tables just to manage the serial numbers and you don't want to be adding new tables on a regular basis just to adapt to changes in your product lines.