13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2011 1:02 PM by LennonRichardson

LennonRichardson

Title

Hello, I'm new to Filemaker Pro, and Databases in generall.

I have a table that has the fields

Date, Group, Item, Qty Sold, Value Sold. Which looks something like this :-

1 Sept  Beers  Corona      10  50

1 Sept  Beers  Heiniken    20  100

1 Sept  Spirits  Vodka      10  80

etc..

I would like on one page (form?) for the user to be able to enter the date just once, for Group & Item to auto populate (from a value list or a related table ??). So that the user can then enter the Qty & Value sold on one page, makeing it quick and easy for them to tab between the fields filling in the data.

What is your advise on the best way to achieve this ?

Thanks !

• 1. Re: Newbie
          mgores

Depending on what you are trying to do exactly it may be different, but assuming the group, item and value would be constant, I would put these in a Products table with another field called ProductID (an autoentered serial number.  Then your "Sales" table would have the date and qty of the sale and a SalesID (also an autoentered serial number).  With each sale possible having many products and products being sold in many sales, you have a many to many relationship and need a third table that would contain ProductID and SalesID.  Your relationship between the tables would be

Products::productID = Jointable::productID

Sales::SalesID = Jointable::salesID

• 2. Re: Newbie
            LennonRichardson

Hello Mark,

Thanks for your reply. I think you've got me heading in the right direction.

This is for a cash bar. The overall plan is that we enter the total qty of each product sold each day so that we can then generate reports to see how much of a certain product we sold over a certain time period. (Or a summary of all products over a time period).
            Group & Item are constant

I (think I) understand and like the 3 table relationship you suggested.