9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2009 12:16 PM by comment_1

Newbie - do I need a portal ?

capnahab

Title

Newbie - do I need a portal ?

I am a doctor and want to create a database of patients and track assessments on them over several years to record how they are doing.

They will be divided into about 6 medical conditions. The type of assessment will be dictated by the condition ( eg MR scan)

I want an opening screen with base demographic data and possibly a drop down list of their condition.

I want the  drop down condition to trigger copying the demographic data onto a new ?table or ?layout (not sure which)related to each condition which will have the assessment fields for 1,2,3,5, and 10 years. I have the assessments tabbed at 1,2,3,5 and 10 years at the mo.

I have FMPro10 adv on a mac. I can make a basic layout etc but am confused about keys and portals.

I have 2 problems at the moment.

- I don't know how to copy the demographic data ( simple address, contact details etc) only to the relevant condition layout (or ?table).

-my tabbed assessment fields. The assessments are the same at each year but do I have to create the fields  for each year as separate entities and call them eg assessment_year1 , assessment_year2 , assessment_year3, assessment_year5, assessment_year10 etc.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Newbie - do I need a portal ?
          comment_1
             You shouldn't need to duplicate any data. Instead, use two tables, Patients and Assessments, related by PatientID. Enter each assesment as an individual record, with the year being one of the fields in the Assessments table.
          • 2. Re: Newbie - do I need a portal ?
            capnahab

Thanks thats very helpful to get me on track.

Each condition will have a different set of assessments so I will need a table for assessment of each condition. Patients will only have 1 condition.