3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2012 8:26 AM by philmodjunk

Newbie - General Question

RobKeller

Title

Newbie - General Question

Sorry if this is too general of a question.

I'm looking into doing a project that is basically an invoicing system with a header and detail invoice tables, customer, items, terms tables, etc.
           Can I assume FileMaker can do this fairly easily?
           My background is in FoxPro and VB.Net. and not sure if thsi project is worth my time learning FileMaker.
           I'm trying to find out a bit more about the programming and costs as this will have to be developed on a pc and run on a Mac network.

I'm also concerned about functionality like:
           Filling other fields when a user makes a selection in a combo box.
           Consuming a web service to post financial transactions.
           Posting invoices to QuickBooks.

I've done some reading on FileMaker and some "experts" say it is too restrictive in what you can do compared to other development systems.
           Is this biased, bad or old information?
           Is FileMaker coding similar to FoxPro or .Net coding?

I'm worried about the learning curve and the impact on the cost of this project.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Newbie - General Question
          schamblee

You should be able to pickup filemaker easily with your background.  FileMaker is more expensive to use than databases like foxpro.  FileMaker requires a copy of filemaker on each machine connecting to the databases unless they connect through Instant Web Publishing or FileMaker GO.  Go is for the iPad / iPhone.  FileMaker is not really like Foxpro or .Net but is very easy to learn.  You can download a trail version of Filemaker to take a look.

You can make your own plugin and there are several plugins available which you may need for the Quickbook connection.  FileMaker Has export functions. 

The expense could run high depending on the number of users.