2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2010 10:32 AM by FentonJones

Newbie - is FM useful for making a debt processing register? Looking for advice! :-)

MikeAitkin

Title

Newbie - is FM useful for making a debt processing register? Looking for advice! :-)

Hi there!

I have a problem and I trust this is the right place to ask! I hope some kind (and expert) forum member can advise me if filemaker is appropriate!

Situation
      I am a paralegal at a little legal office. We have nearly a dozen staff, and we all use networked computers (PC), working off Word and Excel documents saved on a server. None of us are particularly knowledable about computers. I know a bit about excel. Anyhow, since we are smaller firm, we don't have client management software, so we don't log our client interactions in one place, the client file only contains correspondence and documents. We don't have a register for centralised file notes, any member of the staff may, and often has phone contact with a client. Some of us are part-time university students and share desks, and all of us work parts of all the matters - so it's hard to see and be aware of the current big picture as to what is the status of a client matter.

Problem
      The problem is that when the part-time paralegals are assigned a client matter, and often it's a debt matter where we are chasing up money owed, it's hard to know what is going on with the client, often the partner has made several phone calls, and the discussions are not logged in a central place. And often the office manager knows other recent information, that has not yet been logged. It's all over the place. So, we often duplicate calls, and work, and waste time going around the office asking what's the status!

This is particularly a problem with regards to debt processing "Delinquent Clients" ...(what a terrible name) i.e. knowing the status as to money owed and invoicing and reminder calls etc.

Solution?