4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2011 11:59 AM by philmodjunk

newbie here, need a little help with a relationship auto-fill

GregSchnider

Title

newbie here, need a little help with a relationship auto-fill

I've got two tables. 1 is a list of properties and one is a contact list. The list of properties imports from an excel spreadsheet. I created a button on the property list that runs a script to create a contact based on the information from the property list.

BUT a contact might have more than 1 property and I don't want to create contacts based on every property. I put a yes/no dropdown list on the property page and thought that the script should basically be: if "yes" create new record on contact table, field x = field x .....

So I need help doing that, also the issue that doing that successfully would duplicate contacts if more than one property is owned by the same person.

From the contact view, I want to be able to see what properties the contact owns - probably through a portal I guess.

PLEASE HELP

New to filemaker, first database design. thanks in advance.

using FM 11 pro advanced.

• 1. Re: newbie here, need a little help with a relationship auto-fill
          philmodjunk

And what data, in what fields fo Properties do you want to use to create the contact record?

Let's assume you have a single field, Name, in the Properties table. It's simple to modify the following script to work with more fields so that will serve for this example:

First define an auto-entered serial number field in Contacts to unqiuely identify each contact. Don't rely on names as they aren't unique and people change their names. Using the serial number which will always be unique and will never change avoids issues with duplicates and changes to a contact's name.

Define a matching number field in properties and define this relationship:

Contacts::ContactID = Properties::ContactID

Now you can create a script for your button that works like this:

Freeze Window