7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2011 4:03 PM by philmodjunk

Newbie here.  Checkbox with value question.

KristyJohnson

Title

Newbie here.  Checkbox with value question.

I am wanting to create a rubric for grading.  I have created fields with checkboxes and gave a value to each one.  For instance.

Task 1 excellent.  The value is 10, Task 1 Proficient. The value is 7.5.  Task 1 Needs Work, Value 5.  I have the same all the way till task 3. 

What I envision is that I can look at the students assignment, check the appropriate box and then it shows the calculated grade in a grade field. 

I am a newbie.  Is there someone that can help me with a dummied down version on how to finish the rest of my work. 

Thanks!!

Kristy

scap_rubric_3.png

• 1. Re: Newbie here.  Checkbox with value question.
          philmodjunk

Since check boxes make it easy to select multiple values. I'd use radio buttons instead of check boxes unless I want to be able to select "Proficient" and "Needs Work" in the same field of the same record.

If you can size your field so that the values in the radio button formatted field are vertical, do it this way:

Define your value list as a list of the nubmers 10, 7.5, 5, etc--not the text.

Format your field as a radio button field and size it so that it is tall enough to list all the radio buttons in a single column, but so narrow that the the numbers are not visible. Now use the layout text tool to add the text labels for each value next to your radio buttons. This way, you select "Needs Work", but the field records a value of 5.