3 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2010 6:49 AM by jalexand

newbie Q - Can filemaker Pro 11 keep track of changes in a field?

jalexand

Title

newbie Q - Can filemaker Pro 11 keep track of changes in a field?

I am a newbie to filemaker pro (and to databases in general) but I'd consider myself an advanced computer user.  I have filemaker pro 11 on a windows 7 (64bit) machine.  This is a database just for myself (I am a scientist with lots of data that I think is suitable for a relational database), so it is not network shared or anything like that.

So my question is, can filemaker pro keep track of changes in fields?

(this is an example, my data is quite different., but I think the point is the same).

For example, say I have a record with three fields: name, address, zip

Jason, 1234 woohoo lane, 12345

What if the person changes address?  

Jason, 9876 banana drive, 54321

I would update the record with a new address and zip ... but I'd like filemaker to keep a record of the previous address.

In essence, I want to be able to search for Jason and see his new address as well as his old one(s).

Is this possible?

• 1. Re: newbie Q - Can filemaker Pro 11 keep track of changes in a field?
          philmodjunk

This is not a built in feature of Filemaker though you could design a system to support it. You can add fields to your table that auto-enter the current date and time when the record is created and/or when it is modified. Alternatively, you could add a field that stores one value for the current record and a different value for past versions. You can use either approach in finds and sorts to distinguish between current and historical copies of the same record.

You could then add an "edit" button to your layout that first duplicates the current record when clicked. The same script can update a status field and/or your time stamp fields can simply auto enter the current date and time on the new record.