4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2011 1:25 PM by philmodjunk

Newbie question - is this possible?

ChristineB

Title

Newbie question - is this possible?

I am new to developing databases (it's been 15 years since I've worked with Filemaker and I was doing mostly basic stuff at that point). I am trying to figure out if the following is possible.

I am trying to make a database that would streamline the following process: Every month, the retail manager uses an excel spreadsheet to note which products should be hung from a pegboard hanger (in a retail store). Sometimes they want four different products hung from one hanger in a certain priority (ie., the red product goes first, then the blue product behind it, etc) and sometimes they just want to hang four of the same product on one hanger.

The retail manager has traditionally used a spreadsheet and one cell has represented one pegboard hanger. If they want to show four different products, they just list them in the one cell. There are different spreadsheets for different store types - but they all have these cells with up to four products listed.

The frustration for the retail manager is having to do this manually in an excel spreadsheet with multiple sheets and cells and products...cutting and pasting SKUs, product names, prices, etc.

I keep thinking that if I can assign each product (there are only about 200) a record number (in a field) with all its corresponding information (SKU, price, name, etc) then the retail manager could do a spreadsheet and just imput the record number (she'd have a master list) in excel and I could take that excel document and based on her record numbers, automatically fill in the rest of the information (for instance, in her excel sheet each cell would just say "2" or "132" instead of the name/info.