3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2011 2:00 AM by MatthewKingham

Newbie Question about Date Ranges

MatthewKingham

Title

Newbie Question about Date Ranges

Hi, I'm relatively new at this but I just want to create a simple function in my database and I'm struggling when it comes to which way would be the best way to go about it.

I have 2 tables - Customers and Bookings. 'Bookings' has a date field.

In the Customers table there are 2 fields (among others) called Winter and Summer. If the booking date is in a winter date range I want the Winter field to be ticked or say 'Yes' or something, and the same for the Summer.

The tables are related, I'm just new when it comes to scripts and calculations etc...

Am I right in thinking that the Winter and Summer fields should have auto-enter calculations which would say 'Yes' when a script finds a date in the date range?

Thanks for your help.

• 1. Re: Newbie Question about Date Ranges
          philmodjunk

Am I right in thinking that the Winter and Summer fields should have auto-enter calculations which would say 'Yes' when a script finds a date in the date range?

That's one option. It can also just be a calculation field.

With either option, the "Summer" field's calculation might work like this if all dates from June through August count as summer dates:

Let ( m = Month ( bookingDateField ) ; If ( m > 5 and m < 9 ; "Yes" ) )

• 2. Re: Newbie Question about Date Ranges
            LaRetta_1

"In the Customers table there are 2 fields (among others) called Winter and Summer. If the booking date is in a winter date range I want the Winter field to be ticked or say 'Yes' or something, and the same for the Summer."

From the perspective of Customers, you will only see the first related Booking record.  I would assume that, if you have two bookings for a customer (one summer and one winter) then you would want both fields to produce 'yes'?