3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2015 1:20 PM by philmodjunk

Newbie Question about Groups and sums

johnjohn

Title

Newbie Question about Groups and sums

Hi to all,

I am total newbie on this so sorry for the stupid question.

In my struggle to understand filemaker i have the following scenario

I have a table with the following records and fields

............field1...........field2

rec1.....1/1/2014.........3

rec2.....1/1/2014........5

rec3....3/3/2014........12

I need to create another table that i keep the grouped sums of the above table and updated every time a new rec created.

like..

rec1.......1/1/2014.....8

rec2.......3/3/2014....12

similar the sql command select field1,sum(field2) from table GROUP BY field1

How can i do this?

• 1. Re: Newbie Question about Groups and sums
          philmodjunk

It's quite possible that you do not need the second table at all. You can generate a summary report with one row of data for every unique value of Field1 with a sub total placed next to it. See this thread for a tutorial on summary reports: Creating Filemaker Pro summary reports--Tutorial

But you can also define a table where field 1 is the date shown and used as a match field to set up a relationship in Manage | database | relationships linking the two tables by date:

Table1::DateField = Table2::DateField

Then Table2::field2 can be defined as a calculation field: Sum ( Table1::Field2 ) to compute the total.

It is also possible to set up calculation fields that use ExecuteSQL to compute such a an aggregate value.

• 2. Re: Newbie Question about Groups and sums
            johnjohn

Thx for the info...

I would like the table option i need the data to munipulate them (do some other callcs - send them to external charting engine....)

The problem now is on how to populate the new table with unique values from the Table1::DateField..

• 3. Re: Newbie Question about Groups and sums
              philmodjunk