5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2014 3:40 PM by philmodjunk

Newbie question, how to auto-fill a field based on another field

JeanneCoyneSong

Title

Newbie question, how to auto-fill a field based on another field

I know this is super simple, but I am quite new to Filemaker and work at a school without a tech person.  I'd like to save money by not hiring our consultant to create this field.

We have a database to track auction items.  These items fall within specific categories, i.e.

100: Clothing, Jewelry & Accessories

200: Art, Books & Music

300: Pamper Yourself

And so on.

These are in a value list that are a drop down menu for the field called Donation Category.  I created a field Donation Item Number.  It would be great if this field could take the numbers from the first field and auto-populate.  So, if I enter a hand-sewn jacket as an item, choose the category 100: Clothing, Jewelry & Accessories, the Donation Item Number would fill in automatically with 101, and so on.  The list goes all the way up to 1400: From the Faculty.

We aren't so large that this couldn't be done manually, but it would be super snazzy and a good time-saver as we use volunteers for all of the data entry. 

Thanks for any help from an underpaid, overworked and confused non-profit worker.

• 1. Re: Newbie question, how to auto-fill a field based on another field
          guaya81

you can create or in the same field, make a calculation type field and do a if formula and else formula for that if you send me some example i will be glad to halp you making the formula

thanks

• 2. Re: Newbie question, how to auto-fill a field based on another field
            JeanneCoyneSong