4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2013 10:12 AM by philmodjunk

Newbie seeking help re reports

claret_mike

Title

Newbie seeking help re reports

Hi

I am new to databases and I am looking for some assistance/guidance/pointers/links to where I may get more info etc.. 

i have a database of customers who have completed a feedback survey. I want to record the answers to the survey which will sit against each customer. 

I then want to be able to run reports which tell me how many and which customers have answered an answer in a certain way. 

For example... I want to list all customers who have said "yes" to question 1 on my feedback survey but "no" to question 2

Any help would be much appreciated. 

• 1. Re: Newbie seeking help re reports
          philmodjunk

This issue starts with using a functional data model that captures each response to each question by each person taking the survey in a different record of the same table. Then a summary report to provide a count of each response to either a given question or all survey questions (Subtotaled for each question) is quite straight forward. Without that structure, this becomes difficult to impossible to do.

See this link for a discussion of proper Survey Database Design: Need aid on generating a report from a survey layout.

• 2. Re: Newbie seeking help re reports
            claret_mike

Many thanks for linking to that. I am sure it will help. 

This is my first attempt of creating a database so it's just taking a while to get my head around. I have joined Lynda.com to try and get some basic skills/knowledge on all of this. 

As a result, I am starting to understand PK and FK and relationships of one to many etc but still it's still a little confusing. 

Trying to understand further...

Clearly I have 2 tables that I am looking at -" table 1" is Customer, "table 2" is Survey