6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2011 1:12 PM by TinaBrennan

Newbie. What should I do...auto entry data/field/table????

TinaBrennan

Title

Newbie. What should I do...auto entry data/field/table????

It's been 13 years since I have used Filemaker and it's changed ALOT.  I haven't gotten my training series yet, and I'm slowly figuring out how to do certain things (from what I remember from the past and the help menu) but one of the things I'm not sure how to set up is, we have several clients who take several medications (the list could exceed 100 different meds and side effects of those meds will be extensive).......I want to be able to put the name of medication in one field and then the side effects automatically enter into another field (on other layouts they need to be separated).  Suggestions?    Please keep in mind, I am new at this a don't understand alot of the  "technical" jargon yet.   THANKS FOR ANY HELP/SUGGESTIONS!!!

• 1. Re: Newbie. What should I do...auto entry data/field/table????
          LaRetta_1

I want to be able to put the name of medication in one field and then the side effects automatically enter into another field (on other layouts they need to be separated). 

Hi Tina,

Create a table called Medications.  First field should be MedicationID, auto-enter serial number increment by 1. 

Create a table called SideEffects.  This table (all tables) should have auto-enter serial, creation timestamp, modification timestamp so also create SideEffectID.  In SideEffects, also create a number field called MedicationID.  Relate them in the graph as:

Medications::MedicationID = SideEffects::MedicationID