12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2011 10:27 AM by philmodjunk

Newbie: creating initial relational database

FawnHill

Title

Newbie: creating initial relational database

I am new to relational database setup and I am trying to figure out how to set up a test case database in filemaker.

See attached image -- I figure that I will need a main table to contain records of each of the test cases -- new test cases will be added as time goes on.  I believe I would then have an additional table for each new project which would contain a subset of applicable test cases, but each test case record in the project table would also contain results information for the test case in that particular project -- the results and other fields will be different for each of the projects, but the test cases themselves would not change, unless the main test case is changed.  How would I initially set this up?

test_cases.PNG

• 1. Re: Newbie: creating initial relational database
          mgores

I would use a join table, a table between the project and test case tables.  This table will hold the link between the project record and related test case records.  You can add the fields that are specific to that particular project-test case to that table as well.

• 2. Re: Newbie: creating initial relational database
            FawnHill

Thanks, Mark. I'm very newbie -- could you give me an example of what I would use to join the two tables such that I could have multiple project tables with the same fields that would contain different entries?  For example, how I would have a test case joined to two different project tables, the project tables would have a field called "results".  One project might have "pass" for that field and the other project might have "fail" ?  I have an idea of the concept, just not how to actually do it in filemaker.

• 3. Re: Newbie: creating initial relational database
              mgores