1 Reply Latest reply on May 18, 2009 3:03 PM by TSGal

Nomenclature Tangled

mtpaper

Title

Nomenclature Tangled

Hello  

Please bear with me, as I am not a programmer, and I'm getting all bolixed up in terminology.

I am using FM ProAdvanced, and have many tables set up and joined.  That's fine.

I would like to have the data appear in lists at a site such as PBWorks or BackPack or ZohoWiki or Google Sites, to use as an intranet for my co-workers.

They would not be able to edit or add data.

I do want them to be able to sort and filter the data.

I don't understand whether I need a FM Server, or IWP or Custom Web Publishing.

I looked at Web Viewer Example.fp7, and that looks good, but I don't understand how to begin. 

I don't understand how to get from where I am, to where I want to be.

Thank you -

Marion 

PS - how can I access the file from the Web Viewer Example?  I want to see how the Matrix Report was made.  

• 1. Re: Nomenclature Tangled
          TSGal

mtpaper:

Thank you for your post.

Let's first start with the file(s) you want to display.  From the File menu, select "Sharing -> Instant Web Publishing..."   Turn on Instant Web Publishing, and write down the IP Address (unless you already know it).  In the bottom left, select the file, and on the right side, set access to All Users (for now).

Next, go to another machine, launch a browser and enter:

http://<IP Address>

You will now get the Instant Web Publishing page where you can select the file and see how it looks.  Feel free to look around.  Don't worry about being able to edit everything right now.  When finished, click Log Out.