1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 30, 2013 9:25 AM by davidanders

Not responding (crashing) after create new database

WizardofOz

Title

Not responding (crashing) after create new database

Hi guys,
                     I'm newbie here and just use Filemaker. But I got some problems, here's the description.

Summary : Not responding (crashing) after create new database
      Product : FileMaker Pro
      Version : 12 Advanced
      OS version : Win 7

Description of the issue :
                     After creating a new database using FIlemaker Quick Start, FileMaker hangs up and is "not responding". The program then has to be closed.
                     And the I try to open the existing database, it's happen again.
      Expected result :
                     Create database succeed and normal use continues.
      Actual result :
                     Program is described as "not responding"
                     Required to close program.

Could you please give me advice what should I do next?
                     Thank you

• 1. Re: Not responding (crashing) after create new database
          davidanders

Win7 Home? Premium?

FMPA12  12.0.3? 12.0.4?  

"Not Responding" allowed to sit for 1min? 5min? 10min?

Creating a New User, logging in as that user and testing can help.

Often, a reinstall of Filemaker fixes this sort of problem.

Legitimate copy of Filemaker?

Restart in Safe Mode gives the same result?  http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-vista/start-your-computer-in-safe-mode

•           

Open Event Viewer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Maintenance, clicking Administrative Tools, and then double-clicking Event Viewer. Administrator permission required If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.