4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2011 10:35 AM by mgores

Not updating fields from a related set on a master layout

johannes

Title

Not updating fields from a related set on a master layout

Dear all,

I am new to Filemaker though not new to relational databases and programming. I am using Filemaker Pro 11 and have set up a test database with the following information:

customers table with fix customer details like birthday. 

. ID (uniquely identifies every customer record)

. ID_address (link to the default customer address)

addresses table with variable customer addresses. 

. ID (uniquely identifies every address record)

. ID_customer (link to the customer record for which this address is the default)

There is a relationship with

- customers::ID linked to adresses::ID_customer and 

- customers::ID_address linked to addresses::ID

The customer layout holds these fields:

. customers::ID

. customers::name

. customers::ID_address (dropdown box with value list 'select_address')

. addresses::street_address

. addresses::zip

. addresses::city

The value list uses as the first field: addresses::ID and as the second field: addresses:city.

The problem is now that the address data on the customer layout is not updated when the selected value of the dropdown box changes. 

I have done tests with 'include all values' and it seemed to update the information at first, but now it doesn't anymore. With 'include only related values starting from 'customers' it never updated the information.

I seem to misunderstand the way this works. Can someone point me to the mistake I am making?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hans

• 1. Re: Not updating fields from a related set on a master layout
          mgores

It looks like you have two relationships 

customers::ID = adresses::ID_customer  and customers::ID addresses = adresses::ID

Are these two different relationships or both defined in one relationship?