6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2011 10:25 AM by philmodjunk

Novice here and need help getting started

DavidAdelman

Title

Novice here and need help getting started

I've never worked with a database program before. I'm trying to import data from two excel files where some of the data matches (zip codes) and some of the data is unique. I want to match all the data by zip code.

I appreciate your input and patience.

• 1. Re: Novice here and need help getting started
          mgores

A little more information on what type of data is in the two excel files and how you want the data to end up in the database would help in giving you some advise.  From what you've written so far you could import one of the excel files first, then import the second file using the "update matching records" option and  choose zip code as the match field.  That would work assuming that each zip code is unique for each record.

• 2. Re: Novice here and need help getting started
            DavidAdelman

I have one file which has total housing units by zip code. The other file has weekly sales data by zip code. I want to look at the sales per HH by wk and the only way to do that is combining the files. I can do a lookup formaula in excel, but it crashes sometimes so I thought I would start to use FM to simplify these projects.

• 3. Re: Novice here and need help getting started
              mgores

I would use two different tables in your database then.  On for the Units and one for the weekly sales data.  Set up the relationship between the two based on zip code.  Then create a layout based on Units wth a portal to the weekly sales table, so as you go through the Unit records the sales data for that same zip code will be displayed.

• 4. Re: Novice here and need help getting started
                DavidAdelman

I'm sure you're right, but since today is the first time I've ever used FM I don't know how to do that.

• 5. Re: Novice here and need help getting started