3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2013 10:09 AM by philmodjunk

Number series that allows to repeat number for sub-categories

archivally

Title

Number series that allows to repeat number for sub-categories

Hello Filemaker braintrust!

I am not sure how to title this post!!

I inquired about this scenario a couple of years ago, but was unable to come up with a solution - I figure I will try again now that I have a bit more understanding of the FM language (but I'm still a novice!). 

My database is used to organize 'archival footage clip' records. These clips come compiled on a tape let's say. I have to differentiate what 'TYPE' of tape in terms of whether it is a 'screener tape' or a 'master tape' or a 'scratch source tape' and so on. I do this by using a numbering system as it is easier down the line for other purposes. So when the TAPE comes in I immediately give it a number in the 1000, 2000, 3000 etc category (1000 might be screener, 2000 for master and so on).

After numbering the TAPE, the CLIPS are numbered sequentially as they appear on the tape. Thus a tape with 3 clips would end up with 3 records in my database. In the past I had a field for the tape # 2001 for example, and a field for the clip # (01 for first clip/record, 02 for second clip/record) and just entered the information manually. I created a layout that listed the tape #s, sorted sequentially so I could see what  2000, 3000 or 4000 etc number would be next available for use.  

But I just know there is an easier way! My problem is implementing! 

I would be open to simply using one series of numbers for the tape # and having a field to specify S for screener, M for master, X for Scratch source for example, if that is easier but the tape # has to be able to be repeated as some tape #s will have more than one clip (thus need more than one record in my database).