7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2009 10:33 AM by philmodjunk

Obtain a result from a value list entry.

caribacey

Title

Obtain a result from a value list entry.

I am new to FileMaker.

Using version 10 Pro.

I have a value list with 10 values. I have this working in a layout, no problem here.

I would like to have a field title, a field box, then a second field box.

The second field would show a value as a result of the first field. (This is where I am stuck).

For example, the field title is  "Wall construction". I have a drop down list with 10 options, which goes in the field.

Each option has a value, from 1 to 10, which I need to use in a later calculation.

I can see how a "If "new poured concrete" result is 1" would work, but how can I record this? Into a new field? 

I am stuck as to how I would add this value in a field. I have thought script would do the trick, but I see that I need a field for the script to run. 

The value of the field would be a "component value" , which will eventually give me a final value from the average of all the results.

Could I add one general field in the table?

• 1. Re: Obtain a result from a value list entry.
          ninja

Howdy caribacey,

If you have a related table, related by your value-list-field, the "component value" would reside on the related table.

You could then put the "component value" field on your record and it would show up when you made your drop-down selection of field1.  No scripts, no calculations...

++++++++++++++++

Try it this way:

Create a new table (Table2) with 2 fields "Component" and "Component value"

Create 10 records in this table, one for each component on your value list.

Fill in the corresponding value on each record.

Go to File>Manage>Database>relationships tab

drag the "component" field from one table to the matching "component" field in the other table

Go to your layout and put the field Table2::componentvalue on the layout.