pdoak_1

Title

One to many relationship

Background Info: I am using the following

1. Filemaker pro Advanced 11
      2. Mac OS X 10.6.6
      3. Single user mode
      4. I have been using Filemaker Pro for a few months

I have two tables.  One which contains a master list of stocks with a primary key of __kp_SEDOL and the other which contains the fields _kf_SEDOL and the next reporting date for that company and the date that the record was updated.  This table is updated monthly with new records.

I have created a relationship between the tables based upon the SEDOL common field.  However, when I create a layout from the master list table why can't I see any data for the reporting date field of the other table.  It is just blank!

• 1. Re: One to many relationship
          philmodjunk

How did you create this layout? Did you place the date field from the secondary table directly on this Master List based layout or did you use a portal?

Since you describe this as a one to many relationship, I would expect a portal to be the means to make this work so that you can see all the related records--not just data from the first related record--which is what you'll get if you just put the fields from the secondary table directly on a layout based on the Master List table.

• 2. Re: One to many relationship
            pdoak_1

How did you create this layout?

I placed the field from the secondary table directly on the layout.  I don't not want to use a portal as I wish to display just the latest date from the secondary table.  

My understanding is that the relationship should pick up the first match and as long as a sort the table in date order, I should get the result that I want.  However, the field in the layout is blank which is what I don't understand.

• 3. Re: One to many relationship
              philmodjunk