3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2013 11:20 AM by philmodjunk

one-to-many, relationships

JT

Title

one-to-many, relationships

There are 7 options that seem to be join type. What do the options mean?

The same question stated differently: This is in the Database > Manage > Relationships tab and when setting up a join, between the tables there is "=" and other options are <, >, x, etc. What do those symbols represent?

A more fundamental question: how do I do a simply one-to-many join? The default seems to be a many-to-many join.

I have tried to look around with 'join type' or 'one-to-many' and all I find in the KB is the 3 relational database entries and many-to-many entry. Nothing refers to the basics.

I'm an access developer switching over, so I'm just trying to learn my way around the filemaker procedures to do what I've done in access (and mysql) previously. Go Mac.

• 1. Re: one-to-many, relationships
          philmodjunk

Welcome to FileMaker. I've used both products so I am familiar with how they are similar and how they are quite different. Be prepared to "retrain" some of your thinking as FileMaker can be quite different from Access in a number of ways. Reaching for a familiar "tool" you used in Access and finding that it doesn't work at all in FileMaker will frustrate you for a bit until you learn how to do the same thing in FileMaker.

how do I do a simple one-to-many join?