6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2014 10:39 AM by AlexandraFaidiga

Opening Pictures in Container Fields

AlexandraFaidiga

Title

Opening Pictures in Container Fields

Hello, I am very new to Filemaker and I have a problem that is probably easy to solve for someone with a lot of experience with FM. How can I double-click a picture in a container field and have an enlarged version of the picture in a new window? Or even within the database, and have it go away when you move your cursor perhaps? Thank you very much!

• 1. Re: Opening Pictures in Container Fields
          philmodjunk

It may or may not be possible. You may have to use a single click instead. wink

If you:

1.           Use a container field that does NOT have external storage specified.
          3.           The container field on your layout where you want to double click it has NOT been optimized for external storage.
          5.           Inserted the file with the "Store a reference" check box selected.
          7.           Inserted the file with the Insert File option (and then you can't see the image in the field, only an icon for the file)
          9.           Then double clicking the file will open the original file with the application specified by your computer as the "default application" for that file type.

But you can use Export Field Contents to export and open a copy of any file inserted by any method into any container field. You can write a script to do this and set up a button (even the container field itself can be set up as a button) that performs this script to open the copy of the file with a single click.

• 2. Re: Opening Pictures in Container Fields
            AlexandraFaidiga
             Would it be possible for you to show me what the script would be? Like I said I have no training in FM and what you described with clicking the image and having it open a copy of the file is exactly what I need it to do. I just have no clue how to write scripts.