1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2013 9:49 PM by Phyre

Overwritting a Record

Phyre

Title

Overwritting a Record

Hi I am a novice in this filemaker. I need a help. Can I overwrite a record with the same item description but different date and different status but the same serial or id. This record is taken from the other page or data. How will I do it?

• 1. Re: Overwritting a Record
          philmodjunk

Yes and there are multiple ways you might do that. Do you want to do this by hand--in other words, find and manually update the fields in the record or from a script?

If from a script, please describe what you want to do in much more detail.

• 2. Re: Overwritting a Record
            Phyre

Ok sir here is what I want to do.

I have a Canvass Report Data - (Inside field are who prepared the canvass and date records) This data made for canvassing items from different suppliers or company.

I have also an Item Data - (Inside field are quantity Unit Item Name, 5 suppliers and price) This data I made for storing Items as Price List also

So the result of what I've done is the canvass report data always throwing records to Item Data without overwritting the records.

Example

Monday Jan 1, 2080 I canvass NAILS in 2 companies, Then the next day Wednesday Jan 3, 2080 again I canvassed same item in same company but they updated there price. How will I do it?

Monday:

Company1 Nail is $0.30

Company2 Nail is at 0.60

Wednesday:

Company1 Nail is at $1

Company2 Nail is at $1.05

How will I do it so that I can overwrite it in the last update?

• 3. Re: Overwritting a Record
              philmodjunk

First, You should use a different record to record the price for each company. That makes your data much more flexible to work with. Record the item, the price and the ID of the company in a single record. Canvas 5 items for 4 companies makes for 20 records. Canvas 8 companies for 3 items and record data in 24 records...