2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2010 12:04 PM by FentonJones

Parts Master Lookup Problem

PeterNeathway

Title

Parts Master Lookup Problem

I am new to databasing and I am using FMP 10, so this might be a really silly problem.

Basically, I am trying to use a relationship (between 3 fields in one table and one field in another) to create a lookup for 3 other fields in the first table. Whenever I try to perform the lookup, information is only auto-entered into the fields after matching information has been entered into all 3 of the original fields. 

Any assistance is much appreciated!

Thanks,

Peter

• 1. Re: Parts Master Lookup Problem
          philmodjunk

Please post and Exact description of this relationship. You can use a format such as this:

Table::field1 = Table2::Field2 AND

Table::field3 = Table2::Field4

• 2. Re: Parts Master Lookup Problem
            FentonJones

As Phill says, it would be better to explain a bit better. For me, it is a little hard to imagine what you'd want this for. But I'll try and answer according to what I think you want.

If you want 3 fields to target 1 field in the other table, and you only want to enter data into 1 of the 3 in order to cause a lookup, you could create a 4th field in the 1st table, a calculation, result Text, could be [x] Do not store; List ( field 1; field 2, field 3). If you use that in the relationship instead of your 3 fields, it will give you more or a less an "Or" relationship. The List() function produces a multi-line result (of multiple inputs). Each line of a multi-line field will be seen as a possible match in a relationship. Sort of a "poor man's join table" in functionality.

If the mechanism used is "Lookup," it will be triggered the 1st time (and any time) you enter a matching value in either of the 3 fields in table 1.