It sounds like you have a layout with auto-save disabled in layout setup. That would explain the message you are getting when you change layouts. A commit record [no dialog] step could be used to suppress that message or you can change the auto-save setting.
You are still in "add mode" as there is no such mode, only browse mode. Set field can still be used to modify data in the fields of the current record.