10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2013 4:57 PM by yomango

Password protected by previous employee..

ScottBuchanan

Title

Password protected by previous employee..

This is my first post after doing hours of forum hunting. I found a few posts that seemed pretty close to my issue but for safety sake I figure I should ask anyway.

We are using FMP9 (FileMaker Pro 9) in a Windows environment. We had an archaeologist who did all of the data entering as he catalogged new findings of aboriginal artifacts. Long story short he left the company and now legally, we cannot contact him. We do OWN the legal rights to all of his data entries but without the password cannot access them. 

Keep in mind I am a FMP newb so to speak, is there a default admin account I can log in as and reset this users password? As far as I know he is the only user that has the highest permissions, there are several other basic users. OR is there some way to open up a file into notepad and make some changes that way? I am not afraid of a very technical answer as I can usually figure it out.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Password protected by previous employee..
          JimMac

The data may be free to export, make reports and otherwise get the data entered.  I know of no "hacker" way of doing what you want.  If your DB has external files for storage, those files may not be passworded.  Call FMP for their support.  Otherwise, have your legal write him a letter.

Jim...

• 2. Re: Password protected by previous employee..
            ScottBuchanan

Thanks for the response Jim, Just got off the phone with FMP support and he said there was really nothing I could do. It seems foolish that they have a default admin account but no way to rescue a forgotten password...

• 3. Re: Password protected by previous employee..
              philmodjunk

There may be a way to resolve this from a technical stand point. Do you have a back up copy of your file that is not protected by this password?