1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 11:23 AM by KristineGentry

performing calculations on textual data in FileMaker pro

KristineGentry

Title

performing calculations on textual data in FileMaker pro

I have several columns of text that I want to run some calculations on and I don't know how to get started.

I have 9 columns that have text in them.  I want to search the nine columns and get the frequency with which certain words appear.  The columns are populated with text from a values list, so I would like to see how many times each choice shows up across the 9 columns.  And, ideally get an average from that too.

I'm new to FileMaker and got the database set up and the data input, but I can't figure out how to get started using FMP to analyze any of it.  Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. 

• 1. Re: performing calculations on textual data in FileMaker pro
          philmodjunk

Are the words in separate fields of separate records or do you you have large blocks of text where the word you are counting is included one or more times?

How do you want to set this up on your layout?

Do you want to see a report with a break down of every word or do you want to select one word and see the counts/averages for just that one word?

• 2. Re: performing calculations on textual data in FileMaker pro
            KristineGentry

I have 9 columns (9 fields) in about 400 separate records that all have the same values lists which are possible answers (about 20).  

I would like to see a report with a break down of every possible answer.

Thanks!!

Kristine

• 3. Re: performing calculations on textual data in FileMaker pro
              LaRetta_1

And what happens if you want to add another question, Kristine?

Those 9 fields should be related records instead.

"I want to search the nine columns and get the frequency with which certain words appear. "