7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2013 11:01 AM by philmodjunk

Pick a clients name and automatically fill clients information

KristalManning

Title

Pick a clients name and automatically fill clients information

Please help!

I'm new to filemaker and setting up databases. I work for a non-profit and am trying to set up a simple database to track our volunteers information and hours. What I have set up is a layout with Volunteer Information (basic info - name, address, phone number, organization involved with...) and then a layout with Volunteer time (to enter the hours they work each day).

When I'm entering in the time I would like to be able to pick the volunteers name from my Volunteer Info layout and it automatically fill the organization/church they are a part of (which has already been entered into the Volunteer Info layout). Please let me know if this is possible and how I go about creating this. 

• 1. Re: Pick a clients name and automatically fill clients information
          philmodjunk

First, you'll need a relationship between your two tables. The match fields for this should be an ID field in volunteers that auto-enters either a serial number or uses the Get ( UUID ) function (fileMaker 12) that matches to a number (serial) or text ( Get (UUID) ) field in your "Hours" table. Then you need a drop down list or pop up menu of volunteers where the first field of the value list is this ID field and the second field is the volunteer's name.

This can then result in the data from your Volunteer table either being copied or linked to your current Hours table.

See this thread for more on both options: Auto Fill

• 2. Re: Pick a clients name and automatically fill clients information
            KristalManning