12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2011 10:38 AM by philmodjunk

Picking one field out of search results for variable?

Title

Picking one field out of search results for variable?

Hey all.  I am fairly new at FMP, so forgive me.  I have done some searching for this but I just don't think that I know the proper FM lingo to get the answer that I am looking for.  I am also more familiar with SQL type queries and it is sometimes hard to get the new FM round-peg to fit in the SQL square hole.  :)

I am trying to find some data (really a boolean) about the currently-logged-in user and trying to use that for an IF statement.  Here's the basic breakdown.

**  Get the user's name:   setvariable ($name ; Get(accountname))

**  Find that user's record in the USER table (this is a unique result, i.e. 1 record)

**  From that result, pick out whether or not that person "is X?" (yes/no).  [Would perhaps be something like:  Setvariable ($isX ; USER::isX)  ?]

** IF ($isX) ...  Else ...

In SQL I would think of it all like this:  SELECT isHuman FROM user_table WHERE user_name = "Bob Smith".  But the whole Find[] functionality confuses me a bit.

I hope this makes sense. 

Thanks,

Justin

• 1. Re: Picking one field out of search results for variable?
          Sorbsbuster

Try:

Go To Layout [Pick a layout based on the USER table]
          Enter Find Mode
          Set Field [UserName ; Get ( AccountName ) ]
          PerformFind []
          If [FieldYouAreInterestedInConfirming = WhatYouWantToSee ]
          Show Custom Dialogue [ Get ( AccountName ) & " is indeed one of those people we want!" ]
          Else
          Show Custom Dialogue [ Get ( AccountName ) & " - sorry, you are not welcome here" ]

• 2. Re: Picking one field out of search results for variable?

So I would have to switch to a layout based on that table first?  Hmmm...

• 3. Re: Picking one field out of search results for variable?
              Sorbsbuster