AnsweredAssumed Answered

Please help a time poor newbie surgical trainee!

Question asked by medbeej on Apr 14, 2012
Latest reply on Apr 16, 2012 by GuyStevens

Title

Please help a time poor newbie surgical trainee!

I'm a junior paediatric surgical trainee and i'm trying to set up a filemaker database to keep track of patients I've seen and whose care I've been involved in.  I have just purchased Filemaker Pro 12 and have downloaded the associated Filemaker Go for iPad app.

I have identified the following fields (arranged into tables that I think make sense, but am happy to be corrected):

Demographic Table

• Patient ID (this is the unique patient identifier)
  • UR Number (the hospital's pt identifier, but given i'll be working across multiple hospitals I will need to allocate my own identifier)
  • Last Name
  • First Name
  • Date of birth
  • Age (calculated from date of birth)
  • Street
  • Suburb
  • State
  • Country
  • Postal Code
  • Mobile phone number
  • Home phone number
  • Parent1 Last name
  • Parent1 First name
  • Parent2 Last name
  • Parent2 First name

Admission Details Table

• Patient ID (the same unique identifier as above)
  • Admission ID (do I need this field? - each patient needs to be able to have multiple admissions. I'm thinking of trying to make a one (patient ID) to many (admission ID) relationship)
  • Admission date
  • Discharge date
  • Ward
  • Bed number
  • Diagnosis
  • Admission history
  • Birth history
  • Past history
  • Family history
  • Social history
  • Physical examination
  • Investigation results
  • Progress
  • Plan
  • Tasks
  • (NB: from "Diagnosis" to "Tasks", these are all just simple text fields)

Operation Details Table

• Patient OR admission ID ?? (see next point)
  • Operation ID (do I need this field? - each patient needs to be able to have multiple operations in the one admission. I'm thinking of trying to make a one (patient or admission ID) to many (operation ID) relationship)