9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2012 9:27 AM by GuyStevens

Please help a time poor newbie surgical trainee!

medbeej

Title

Please help a time poor newbie surgical trainee!

I'm a junior paediatric surgical trainee and i'm trying to set up a filemaker database to keep track of patients I've seen and whose care I've been involved in.  I have just purchased Filemaker Pro 12 and have downloaded the associated Filemaker Go for iPad app.

I have identified the following fields (arranged into tables that I think make sense, but am happy to be corrected):

Demographic Table

• Patient ID (this is the unique patient identifier)
      • UR Number (the hospital's pt identifier, but given i'll be working across multiple hospitals I will need to allocate my own identifier)
      • Last Name
      • First Name
      • Date of birth
      • Age (calculated from date of birth)
      • Street
      • Suburb
      • State
      • Country
      • Postal Code
      • Mobile phone number
      • Home phone number
      • Parent1 Last name
      • Parent1 First name
      • Parent2 Last name
      • Parent2 First name

Admission Details Table

• Patient ID (the same unique identifier as above)
      • Admission ID (do I need this field? - each patient needs to be able to have multiple admissions. I'm thinking of trying to make a one (patient ID) to many (admission ID) relationship)
      • Admission date
      • Discharge date
      • Ward
      • Bed number
      • Diagnosis
      • Admission history
      • Birth history
      • Past history
      • Family history
      • Social history
      • Physical examination
      • Investigation results
      • Progress
      • Plan
      • Tasks
      • (NB: from "Diagnosis" to "Tasks", these are all just simple text fields)

Operation Details Table

• Patient OR admission ID ?? (see next point)