9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 11:27 AM by AaronSmith

Please help with script to email a copy of the file with 1 single record

AaronSmith

Title

Please help with script to email a copy of the file with 1 single record

I have been working with filemaker for several years, but just now starting to tinker with editing my company database.  I have no training.  I have several outside companies that sell our product for us.  I do not want to give them access to our server.  Currently they e-mail us a "sales order" printed from filemaker into a PDF file.  We then print review and manually type that same order into our filemaker sales order file.  I have been trying to create a button that will email the record they create in the sales order file.  Then in theory we could receive the email, open it, review it, and then click another button to load the order into our sales order file.  Both our sales order file, and their sales order file are exactly the same. Their file only contains the records they send us.  Every time I attempt this I run into a problem.  Can someone tell me how to build both scripts?  One to send the record, and one to load it into our file after review?  We just upgraded to filemaker 11, and all of the offices will be getting Filemaker 11 once these issues are solved.  Thank you in advance for your efforts.

Aaron 

• 1. Re: Please help with script to email a copy of the file with 1 single record
          AaronSmith

Is there anyone out there who has tried this?

• 2. Re: Please help with script to email a copy of the file with 1 single record
            philmodjunk

With FileMaker 10 or 11, the process is the same. Your outside companies should be able to run a scrip that exports the current found set (which can be a single record, if necessary) to a FileMaker file. This exported file can be emailed to you by the same script where someone on your end can then use a script to find and import the data into your file.