9 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 9:23 AM by philmodjunk

Please help...

yslim45

Title

Please help...

Hi Experts,

This is Lim here. I have a problem with conceptualising an excel file given by my boss to sort of convert it into a filemaker database. His idea  was to create a small application so that we could monitor the cashflow of the company. a cash in and a cash out. My idea was to create a list view where data could be entered in the cash in area and then when it is cash out the user just needs to click on a button and that particular record is placed in the cashed out area.

I am new to filemaker and would like some assistance on this. How do I come up with the best relationship diagram possible so that I can begin the process of building the database?

Regards

Lim

ScreenHunter_01_Apr._27_10.47.gif

• 1. Re: Please help...
          philmodjunk

Can't tell the purpose of all these columns from your screen shot as you didn't include the screen headers.

Thus I can't tell what "the user just needs to click on a button and that particular record is placed in the cashed out area" would do in this layout.

• 2. Re: Please help...
            yslim45

Hi

I have edited the screenshot basically it is viewed based on a monthly basis.what I meant by the user just needs to click on a button and that particular record is placed in the cashed out area". is moving that particular record according to the company name eg.SAP Singapore. to a new layout called cashed out when this record is placed originally on cashed in.

Are there any better ways to do this (i.e importing this data into filemaker and then come up with the ERD for this?)

• 3. Re: Please help...
              yslim45

And I am supposed to generate a report similar to the excel file as well....

• 4. Re: Please help...
                philmodjunk

Lot's of questions and potential issues here.