5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2012 1:47 PM by philmodjunk

Populate separate forms from a list of values in a field

MattHarris

Title

Populate separate forms from a list of values in a field

I am new to Filemaker and my graduate advisor wants me to make a database with no previous knowledge of Filemaker. What I would like to do is populate a form with like fields from another form that contains a list of items from 4 different fields that are associated with one another. There needs to be a separate form created for each item in the list from the first form. 

• 1. Re: Populate separate forms from a list of values in a field
          philmodjunk

Can't picture that. Can you provide an example?

• 2. Re: Populate separate forms from a list of values in a field
            MattHarris

Sorry I could have worded that a little better. We are using Filemaker to make digital versions of forms that we would use to collect data in the field. One form is what we call the 'Operation' form which will contain a list of Sub-Operations. There is then a separate form for each Sub-Operation. I would like to be able to have a form that will be automaticallly populated with the info for each Sub-Operation listed on the Operation form. I hope that helps a little more. Thanks!

• 3. Re: Populate separate forms from a list of values in a field
              philmodjunk

It's a start. In FileMaker, if you define a relationship between two tables, you can add fields from the one table to a layout based on the related table and the information from the first table will appear on this layout based on the second table.

Example:

If you have a Customer Info form based on a table named Customer Info, you can fill in information such as a name and address. If there is an auto-entered serial number called Customer ID to identify each new record in this table, you can link it to an "invoice" form(layout) using this relationship:

Customer Info::Customer ID = Invoice::Csutomer ID