4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2008 9:00 AM by markt

port forwarding into host filemaker pro database

markt

Title

port forwarding into host filemaker pro database

I am using Filemaker Pro 9 on 5 computers one being the host. 

I am new to Filemaker Pro. I have 3 computers in same office, and 2 computers in satellite offices. I want to port forward using 5003 into host computer.

from what i understand, i need to setup my router where the host computer is and allow port forward with the 5003 port...I also allow database in filemaker pro to share. Do i also need to set a pinhole in the firewall to allow filemaker pro users through, or is that done by prior step?

also, is there any special settings for the routers of the remote computers, or settings for the computer itself?

I am understand to open filemaker pro and choose open remote...then type in the ip address where to find the host computer...do i use the internal IP of the host or the external IP? it has the default LDAP port of 389...should that stay as is? or is this where to put in 5003? in VNC, you put the :5003 port behind the IP address...

i have been unable to find the database remotely since I have set it up this past week...

• 1. Re: port forwarding into host filemaker pro database
          AndreasT

Depending on your router/firewall brand you may need to open port 5003 in more than one place, but very ofteh you just need to open this in the firewall.

Set your firewall to allow port 5003 traffic for any source and destination.

In the NAT traversion/port forwarding setup you set up forwarding of all traffic coming in on port 5003 to the local machine hosting your database. This machine needs to have a static IP address on the local subnet.

Also make sure that any local firewall on the host computer is set to allow port 5003 through. It can be helpful to turn this firewall off during testing and configure it later when you have everything else working.