5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2012 5:23 PM by disabled_JackRodgers

Portal - displaying multiple records/images horizontally and vertically

Title

Portal - displaying multiple records/images horizontally and vertically

I am fairly new to FM Pro, so apologies in advance if my query has been answered elsewhere.

I have a database of about 100,000 images and each image is assigned one or more of about 350 categories.  Whilst I have no problem in displaying the images associated to each category in a portal, the portal allows for only one image per row to be displayed.  Is there a way to display more than one image per row (e.g. 4 or more)?  I do not need to have the portal scroll horizontally, just vertically.  It should also be noted that the image IDs may not necessarily be consecutive.

For illustrative purposes, this is what I currently have:

Select:  Category1

Portal:   Image1

Image3

Image4

Image7

Image9

Image12

This is what I would like to have:

Select:  Category1

Portal:   Image1    Image3    Image4    Image7

Image9    Image12   ...

Can you help, please?

• 1. Re: Portal - displaying multiple records/images horizontally and vertically
          Sorbsbuster

You can create an illusion of that layout arrangement by having 4 portals side by side, each one starting where the left neighbour finished.  However when you scroll it will scroll each portal independently.  (I think it would be common to only have the right-most portal acrolling.)  How good a solution that is for you mostly depends on how many records you typically get in the match.

• 2. Re: Portal - displaying multiple records/images horizontally and vertically

As some categories may have 2,500+ records/images, I need to be able to scroll down all at once.  Would it be possible to have only one portal and, on each row, several containers linked to a series of calculated lists (eg every 4th image, etc)?  Not sure how this would be scripted though.  Any other ideas?  Many thanks.