4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2010 4:38 AM by Abhaya

Portal doesn't work when join tables used?

DarenKalahan

Title

Portal doesn't work when join tables used?

Hi there,

To try and remedy my issue in the bigger database, I created a simple database that mimics the issue. Please see attached photo for table relations created.

Three tables:

Teachers

Students

Classes

All are many-to-many relationships so I've created join files between each to make them one-to-many.

Goal: Include a portal in the teachers form that lists which classes a teacher is teaching. Whenever I include a portal though and view it in "Browse Mode > List View" the result is blank.

When I include a portal in the classes form to show students in the class, on the other hand, the portal works.

What would you recommend?

I'm a newbie.

Thank you so much for your help!

FileMaker Pro Advanced 11

Screen_shot_2010-10-04_at_7.16.21_PM.png

• 1. Re: Portal doesn't work when join tables used?
          philmodjunk

Instead of creating a 2nd table occurrence of the teachersNClasses join table, create a second table occurrence of Classes and link it to the upper  teachersNclasses join table occurrence. That way you can put a portal to the Jointable on your Teachers layout and add class data from the new table occurrence of Classes to the portal.

Once you have that working, you might also consider reorganizing your relationship graph into Anchor Buoy format for a clearer representation of the data and relationships.

• 2. Re: Portal doesn't work when join tables used?
            DarenKalahan

PhilModJunk: It worked! Thank you sooo much! I knew those hours of frustration could be solved in 3 seconds by an experienced user.