7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2015 9:50 PM by philmodjunk

Portal Field Help

wfwagoner2

Title

Portal Field Help

FMPro 14

I have a Portal field on a "Master " form that displays employee names and attendance (absent / present) next to each name as a pull down)  I would like to know how I can "filter" the view of the Portal fields to only show:

A:  Absent ONLY

B:  Present ONLY 

C: All Employees      Then have scripts linked to buttons outside of the Portal allowing me to print a list of each condition.     Any ideas or suggestions welcomed....

• 1. Re: Portal Field Help
          philmodjunk

I wouldn't use a portal for printing this data as you might have records in your portal that are not visible without scrolling and you would be unable to print those. A list view based on the portal's table can be used to print the same information while avoiding this limitation. Instead of filtering the portal, you'd perform a find (manually or with a script) to find and list the records you want to print.

But to filter a portal, you could produce this portal filter expression.

LayoutTable::FilterField = "All" Or PortalTable::Attendance = LayoutTable::FilterField

Your button scripts might then be written like this:

Set Field [LayoutTable::FilterField ; Get ( ScriptParameter ) ]
          Refresh Portal ["Portal Object Name Here"]

You'd use the Inspector's Name box to give the portal an object name to use in this script. Your three buttons would all perform the same script, but each would pass a different value, "All", "Absent" , "Present" to it in order to filter for a different value.

• 2. Re: Portal Field Help
            wfwagoner2

Thanks for getting back to me! I understand the "intent" here just not how to implement it 

My Portal name is "Employees"    the field  that would decide the filter is "Status"  (All, Absent, Present).

Where is the script "entered?"  I am new with this level so I could use a little guidance....

Bill