6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2014 2:10 PM by MichelleJoachims

Portal filtering only on duplicate field values

MichelleJoachims

Title

Portal filtering only on duplicate field values

Hi all,

I am really new to FMP, but am setting up a database from scratch to contain my lab project data and I cannot figure out how to set up a portal filter to display only records with duplicate values in one particular field. I have been able to successfully set up portal filters to display based on other types of field information but this one has me stumped. I am using FMP 11- any insight would really help me. I know I'm missing something very basic- it must be that I cannot come up with the appropriate calculation I need. I appreciate any help in advance!

Thanks,

Michelle

• 1. Re: Portal filtering only on duplicate field values
          philmodjunk

A portal implies a one to many relationship:

LayoutTable-----<PortalTable

Let's say that a field named "Data" is the field that might contain the duplicate values for which you want to filter.

Go to Manage | Database | Relationships, create a new table occurrence of your portal table and link it like this:

LayoutTable----<portalTable>----<PortalTable 2

Set up the match fields to be:

portalTable::Data = portalTable 2::Data

then you can set up a filtered portal to PortalTable with this portal filter:

Count ( PortalTable 2::Data ) > 1

and then only related portal records that have at least one duplicate value will be visible in your portal.

A different portal filter can be used with this relationship to omit duplicates.

• 2. Re: Portal filtering only on duplicate field values
            MichelleJoachims

That did the trick!

Now, I need to count the number of times each duplicated field occurs in the context of a given portal record (patient)- how can I add this data to the portal? Much appreciated- so much to learn!

Thanks so much!!!

M.

• 3. Re: Portal filtering only on duplicate field values