3 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2015 10:03 AM by philmodjunk

Portal Help

RichardStrohman

Title

Portal Help

I am still somewhat new to Filemaker and learning, but slowly.

I am trying to make a task manager database.  I have three tables: Projects, Tasks, and Personnel.  What I am trying to do is have all of the projects in a layout show in a list view and then in the header have a portal that shows all/only the tasks for a certain person in the Personnel table.

Currently, the portal is showing all of the tasks for the specified person (the portal filters for only one name) but only in the selected record and not in all records.

Is there a reason why it is doing this?  Maybe my table relationships are off?  I have the Projects table related to the Tasks table and the Tasks table to the Personnel table.  The portal is from the Tasks table and shown on a layout using the Projects table.  Or maybe I need to do something with variables?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Portal Help
          philmodjunk

It sounds like a possible relationship issue, but since my crystal ball has once again gone down, I'd need to know what relationships you've set up and what table occurrence name you've selected in Layout Setup | Show Records From. (This is also shown in the status tool bar as Table: Table Occurrence Name Here just to the right of the layouts drop down when the layout is in layout mode.)

This last bit is what establishes the "context" from which relationships on your layout--such as your portal will work.

It will also be helpful to know what you've selected in Portal Setup | Show Related Records From for the portal in your header and how you are specifying which person to use when listing their tasks.

• 2. Re: Portal Help
            RichardStrohman

Here is what I have:

Three tables: Projects, Tasks, Personnel

Projects has the following fields: ID, ProjectTaskID, Project