4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2014 8:35 AM by philmodjunk

Portal Not Working

user28012

Title

Portal Not Working

Hello,

I am new to using portals and am having a tough time for some reason. I am not sure why but the portal is blank and shows no records, yet there is a relationship between the 2 tables.

I have a large project management DB that I have mocked a couple of records and layouts.

For parts layout, I have part number, type, project, status, due date

For project layout, I have meeting date, project, comment

The 2 tables are linked by project.

In the project layout, each record will have a meeting date and comments.

The portal is used to show the project name, and due date.

Capture.JPG

• 1. Re: Portal Not Working
          philmodjunk

Best guess is that you need to double click the relationship line between parts and project and enable "allow creation of records via this relationship" for the portal's table (occurrence).

• 2. Re: Portal Not Working
            user28012

I tried that and if I add data to the project layout portal, the data shows up in the part layout, so there is a connection, but the info in the part layout still wont show up in the portal.

Another strange thing happened. I added one record and made the data "sdsd", then after inputting the data and checking if the information was visible in the parts layout, I deleted it. I went back to project layout and input a due date, and the previous entry of "sdsd" automatically appeared. I tried deleting again and still the same thing happened.

• 3. Re: Portal Not Working
              user28012

I fixed the strange phenomenon, when I was trying different things with the table, the project was a global field.

I found that the record created in the field will stay in the portal, but if I make a new record in the project database, the portal will not get all records.

Is there some kind of refresh function or something that i am missing?

• 4. Re: Portal Not Working