3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2009 8:26 AM by philmodjunk

Portal question

deliciousapple

Title

Portal question

I have connected two “Client” table occurrences together by “FullName” field and used “X”.  

This enables me to see a list of all clients on my detail form view.  (see photo @ http://galleryDOTmeDOTcom/genehouse#100107)  I use a text object on portal rows to gttr, in the same form view layout

When I do a find in my client table I would like the records listed in the portal to only show those records as well.  Right now it just shows all records, all the time.

Ideas?  

Also I would like to highlight the active row, I know how to do this in a normal portal, one thats comes from another table, but I cant get it to work in this scenario. 

Oh geez, one last question, the portal always scrolls back to the top after I choose a record with my text object button that is on the portal rows.  Anyway to stop this.

Sorry for the less than optimal explanation, I am a novice at this stuff. 

Gene 

• 1. Re: Portal question
          philmodjunk

There's a way I know to set a filter for your portal using a technique that dates back to Filemaker 4 or older. Still works, there may be a better way, if so, maybe someone will chime in with it.

If you don't have a serial number field that uniquely identifies each client record, define one and Use the Replace Field contents tool to assign a serial ID number to all your existing records.

Create a new client layout with only one field on it, the above ClientID field.

Define a global text field: gClientList

Make your self Join relationship: Clients :: gClientList = Clients 2 :: ClientID

Place gClientList on your Clients layout.

If you script your find, (or possibly set a script trigger on your main layout that executes when you leave find mode), the following script will filter your portal to just show the current found set's matching records:

Go to Layout [ClientIDlayout (Clients)]

Copy All Records