6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2012 12:36 PM by jb362

Portal question

jb362

Title

Portal question

I consider myself a newbie and this is my first attempt at using a portal.

Initially I had one of the fields in the portal defined as a Drop Down List with an Edit Box placed on top of it to show the second field in my Values list.

This worked as expected but only for the first row in the portal.

Subsequent rows show the ID, which is the first field in the Values list, and not the second field which is what I want to display.

This method has worked on other layouts when the field in question is not within a portal.

When I changed the field to a Popup Menu and removed the edit box the issue disappeared.

My question…

Is this the way FM behaves or is the second approach the one to use?

The portal’s appearance when using a Drop Down for the location field

ID      Location                      Number

3       Home                            (123) 456-7890

5       8                                    (123) 789-1234

9       2                                    (123) 555-1245 x 3456

The portal’s appearance when using a Popup Menu for the location field

ID      Location                      Number

3       Home                            (123) 456-7890

5       Cell                                (123) 789-1234

9       Work                             (123) 555-1245 x 3456

Thanks for your insight.

• 1. Re: Portal question
          philmodjunk

You need a relationship from your portal's table to the table of values from which your value list get's its values instead of from the layout's table. Then the name field shield trick works in your portal the way you want it.

• 2. Re: Portal question
            jb362

Below is the relationship’s diagram.

I'm not sure what I need to do as you have suggested.

I thinking the Portals table is the Phones table, the Values table is the Phone locations and the Layouts table is Master.