5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2013 3:17 PM by RichardLawrence

Portal shows imported records but does not allow new entries

RichardLawrence

Title

Portal shows imported records but does not allow new entries

I have been using Filemaker Pro 11 for a couple of years for simple tasks such as Contact List and Product Catalog. Our company has an old Access 97 database with Visual Basic interface that has become corrupted and a security risk. I have managed to export the table data and build a new file. All of the historic records that I imported show up in the portal window, but when I select "New Record" I have blanks available for all of the data but no ability to enter new items in the portal itself. I have attached an image of the page. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

PO_Page_sample.png

• 1. Re: Portal shows imported records but does not allow new entries
          philmodjunk

It sounds like you need to:

Open Manage | Database | Relationships

Find the relationship between the layout's table occurrence and the portal's.

Double Click the relationship line linking the two.

Select "allow creation of records via this relationship" for the portal's table occurrence.

(Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences?, are what we call the "boxes" found on the relationships tab in Manage | database. They may look like "tables". They are frequently called "tables"--even in numerous places within the FileMaker application, but they really aren't tables.)

• 2. Re: Portal shows imported records but does not allow new entries
            RichardLawrence

Thank you for your quick response. I'm not sure what I should be linking in the two databases from your answer. I have attached an image showing my table relationships. Perhaps you can provide some more definitive comments based upon this.

Richard Lawrence

• 3. Re: Portal shows imported records but does not allow new entries
              philmodjunk