4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2013 1:14 PM by jsbarnes

Portals on a liquid layout and Displaying GrandChild Elements

jsbarnes

Title

Portals on a liquid layout and Displaying GrandChild Elements

I am pretty new to FMP so I am hoping that I am just over looking  something.  You make it so that your Layout is liquid and if people resize the window FMP Window your design flows with it locked into each edge.  I have made it so that  a portal flows and grows in size with the layout.  

What I would like is if  a user drags out the layout making it and the portal larger; the portal would reveal more related records.  What I am getting is just kind of a scaling of the records size.  Is there anyway to get the functionality that I want? 

Also I have records that are displaying related records from a grand child table.  Is there a way to hide that empty row? I tried doing a filter record and have it not show records with data in a field but it still shows that last row.  I assume its because the parent-child relationship you can create fields. But there is no reason to create records in the grandparent-grandchild relationship.  

Thank you for any help

• 1. Re: Portals on a liquid layout and Displaying GrandChild Elements
          philmodjunk

If you set both the top and bottom resize anchors for a portal it will increase in number of rows as the height of the window is increased. I use this method in some FIleMaker Go layouts to help the display adjust for a change in device orientation.