8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2013 3:05 AM by tays01s

Portals synchronisation

tays01s

Title

Portals synchronisation

If you have 2 or more portals showing information from related tables (1 < 2 < 3) on table 1 and records in the portal from table 2 have >1 related record in the portal from table 3, how do you ensure that, for example, portal for table 3 is showing the records that relate to record currently showing in the portal from table 2?

• 1. Re: Portals synchronisation
          AppGuy

This is done in your database relationships.  If you have all your relationships setup correctly the data will all show correctly.  Do you have a more specific question we can help you with?

• 2. Re: Portals synchronisation
            tays01s

I'm new to FM so it's possible my relationships aren't correct, but, when I choose a record for T1, it pulls up the correct records from T2 and T3. Each of the latter appear as 3 records per portal. However, when I scroll down T2, T3 doesn't appear to move in synch, so it's not obvious which record from T3 pertains to that in T2. 

How can I make it more obvious? (assuming all's well with relationships!)

• 3. Re: Portals synchronisation
              philmodjunk

With these relationships:

Table1----<Table2----<Table3

An unfiltered portal to Table3 placed on a layout for Table1 will list all records from Table 3 that link to at least one record in Table2. So if you have 2 records showing in an unfiltered portal to table 2 and the first record links to records, A, B from table 3 and the second links to records Y, Z from table 3, the portal to table 3 will list records A, B, Y and Z.

• 4. Re: Portals synchronisation
                tays01s

OK. I've sorted T2 by 'date_created' and  T3 by 'date_created' then filtered T3 by '_fkT2_ID'. But it's not working yet; what have I missed?

• 5. Re: Portals synchronisation
                  philmodjunk

I don't know what you are trying to do. Your original question stated: