6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2015 10:19 PM by JohnJones_1

Post Data to File Record

JohnJones_1

Title

Post Data to File Record

I am a novice at FMP and have inherited a set of databases from someone who has passed away. 

I think my problem may be as much terminology as anything else. 

I have two databases that are linked by a name field. I would like to put information from a field in DB1 into a similar field in DB2. In my past experience with Helix, I would call a Post function, but I don'e seem to be able to find the function(s) I need.

I assume I would use a Lookup function to fine a name in DB2 that matches a name In DB1 then Post the value from DB1 into the corresponding field in DB2. Can someone point em to the right functions?

If I have a "Found" list of names in DB! to use this process on, would I need a script?

Thanks

John

• 1. Re: Post Data to File Record
          philmodjunk

Terminology is definitely at issue here.

A FileMaker "Database" is actually a group of 1 or more Files--each of which can contain 1 or more Tables.

So it appears thate you have two different Tables linked by a name field (Linking tables by a name field is most often not the best option..)

But from there there is a distinct lack of detail as to what you have and what you want to do. If you want to copy data from a field in one table to a field in another, we need to answer this question first: "into WHICH records in the related table do you want to copy this data?" Is there one and only one related record in table 2 linked to the current record in table 1? Do you want to put this data into a new record that is also linked to the current record of table 1? Something else?

I recommend that you take a step back and, from a user's perspective, describe exactly what it is that you want to do here.

If I have a "Found" list of names in DB! to use this process on, would I need a script?