11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2010 3:16 PM by philmodjunk

Posting/Sending Messages

jeffd

Title

Posting/Sending Messages

I'm a FM Pro 10 on XP user.

I have been asked by several of our users at remote locations if we could have the ability to either broadcast

a message to the others users or possibly come up with a way to post a message within a file.

Let me know if any one has ideas how this could be done.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Posting/Sending Messages
          philmodjunk

In general terms, you can set up a table for messages with additional fields to identify the originator and the designated recipients for each message record. A related recipients table can be used to track who has and hasn't read each message.

You'll then need to decide on a notification method to let people know that they've recieved a message.

A script that searches this file for unread messages could be set in file options to run when a specific database file is opened.

You could also use an Install OnTimer script to check for such new messages periodically.

However, keep in mind that most email software have the built in capability to do all of the above and filemaker can also send emails so you may find that there's a much simpler way than doing this all in filemaker.

• 2. Re: Posting/Sending Messages
            jeffd

I finally finished up with my "Message" file. Within the message file I created a "Post Message" script that does certain things such as set fields. However, I need to expand this "Post Message" script to include a notification method that would change a button in another file called "Quoter" to read  "A New Message has been Posted". When pressed, this button will take the user to the message file index. Of course, when the user selects this new message button, the button goes back to a "normal" status until another message is created.

So any advice will be greatly appreciated.

• 3. Re: Posting/Sending Messages
              philmodjunk