5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2011 9:55 AM by philmodjunk

Preventing a field from being modified after entry if related data is changed in another table

GregNichols

Title

Preventing a field from being modified after entry if related data is changed in another table

Hi I'm new to database development and learning...I need assistance understanding how to prevent a field from being modified in a related table.  So here is the senario, I have an employee entering a time card via a Filemaker Layout.  We have multiple lists that I have created separate tables for such as 'Employee List', 'Job Lists', etc.  Now we want to be able to update these lists as we lose and gain employees, and jobs.  I have another table called 'Time Card' that will have a layout for time entry.  I want the manager to be able to type in an employee number or begin typing a name and have a list of employees to select from and entered into 'Time Card'.  I believe this makes it a one to many relation ship between the Time Card table and the other table lists.  So I dont want a name to be changed in the time card table if say, an employee name changes.  Is this a problem and how can I avoid this?  Is this a problem that exists only in many to many relationships and if so how is that problem avoided...Thanks for any help...

• 1. Re: Preventing a field from being modified after entry if related data is changed in another table
          philmodjunk

In your time card table, what does one record represent?

One employee's work day?

One employee's work week?

Time card data for multiple employees?

Or?

If you have a time card for Mary Jones and she gets married and changes her name to Mary Smith, wouldn't you want that name change inthe Employee table to change the name in the TimeCard table automatically? (I read your post as wanting to prevent that and don't understand why that would be.)

• 2. Re: Preventing a field from being modified after entry if related data is changed in another table